When in Need

I am not a religious person. I was not brought up going to church on Sunday or even for Easter or Christmas. I did study the bible for a little while in my youth with Jehovah’s Witness’s (though I’m not sure why).

I believe a lot of people use their religion mainly when in need. People reach out to religion when things go wrong, when people need guidance, or when forgiveness is sought. I’m no different except unlike most American’s I look inward. I’m not Buddhist or Taoist, but these teachings resonate most with me and the way I choose to live my life.

I’m on my second go around of reading Taming the Tiger by Akong Tulku Rinpoche. This book focuses on Compassion not only for others, but also for ourselves. Taming the Tiger  stresses the importance of having control over our thoughts. I am now working towards controlling my suffering and working towards not causing suffering to others. It is a long and never ending battle, but if we all tried to be kinder to ourselves, and the life around you, the world will be a much more beautiful place.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “When in Need”

  1. ar says :

    Nice one. i’ve been working on forgiveness and what was it, 70 times 7 times to forgive. Until recently, i thot it was 70 times 70. I was getting very depressed. I feel better now that it’s just 490 times. I get to start over. Will you forgive me?

  2. Pied Type says :

    I’ll have to check out that book. I could use more compassion for others and for myself.

Leave a Reply

